Twenty Ten

 

Hi folks!

First of all I wish y’ all a happy 2010 where everyone of ya may find the spirit and the motivation to pursue your goals and, oh well, a winning lottery ticket of course 😀

For myself, 2009 was a year I will not forget. On a professional level at Siemens, I particularly enjoyed working with our French & German colleagues at Tihange & Doel, and I learned a lot about turbines in general. I’ve met people at these projects who will be friends for a long time.

As on a personal level, I came to terms with the nasty feeling I got 2 years ago crossing the 40-year boundary. It’s still there, but I can manage it, not envying everyone who ’s younger anymore 😉  But it’s still weird when your nephew comes over with his girlfriend, introducing me as ‘Uncle Jef’ 😀

As far as my whereabouts as wedding photographer, I will be taking things more slowly like I stated in the previous post, enabling myself to gain quality, to learn and improve my skills and workflow. I need to take the latter down to 50% of the actual cycle time, but I’m sure I will succeed at least in thát part. Furthermore I need to develop my own style, brand & logo. And a new website as the cherry on the cake!

2009 was also the year I discovered Twitter. I already heard about it in 2008 and I was 100% convinced I would never take part in this crazy “What am I doing” stuff. I thought it was for nerds with too much time. And look at me now, twittering as if it’s a natural thing to do, already hooked on it 😉  But of course, the twittering itself is not as important as the whole network of friends, acquaintances and colleagues involved with it. It’s sort of a direct communication without having the obligation to respond like chatting -wich I don’t like- but far more quicker than normal email traffic. My kids for instance hardly use email these days.

And what about blogging? Well, as you’ve might noticed, it wasn’t top priority in 2009. But if I look around me, I’m not alone. I’ve seen a major decline in frequency at almost every blog that is photography related. Of course there are exceptions, luckily, and some new ones even post interesting pics on a daily base. But again, it’s a less is more thingy because nontheless, some of us produced extreme powerfull images (the list is too long to sum them up) and kicked the benchmark -again, sigh- up a notch. My favourite item however this year was Bert’s 50/50 project which contained a set of memorable images. I don’t mind if blog fequencies lower, as long as the images keep surprising me, it’s ok 😉

Speaking of images, here’s the set of my last 2009 wedding. Sofie & Gert had to be patient cause they only received there pics last weekend while the wedding was 31/10/09. That’s the downside of being a part-time photographer I guess, but certainly my turtle-slow workflow is the major factor. But hey, they left the house with a big big smile on their faces anyway 😀

sized_S&G_0004

sized_S&G_0007

sized_S&G_0001

sized_S&G_0012

sized_S&G_0014

sized_S&G_0016

sized_S&G_0017

sized_S&G_0020

sized_S&G_0032

sized_S&G_0027

sized_S&G_0029

sized_S&G_0034

sized_S&G_0040

sized_S&G_0043

sized_S&G_0046

sized_S&G_0053

sized_S&G_0054

sized_S&G_0055

sized_S&G_0037

sized_S&G_0061

sized_S&G_0079

sized_S&G_0082

sized_S&G_0091

sized_S&G_0107

sized_S&G_0127

sized_S&G_0153

sized_S&G_0156

sized_S&G_0279

sized_S&G_0280

sized_S&G_0301

sized_S&G_0303

sized_S&G_0305

sized_S&G_0307

sized_S&G_0308

sized_S&G_0309

sized_S&G_0311

sized_S&G_0312

sized_S&G_0314

sized_S&G_0317

sized_S&G_0321

sized_S&G_0319

sized_S&G_0318

sized_S&G_0322

sized_S&G_0323

sized_S&G_0324

sized_S&G_0325

sized_S&G_0326

sized_S&G_0329

sized_S&G_0331

sized_S&G_0332

sized_S&G_0334

sized_S&G_0335

sized_S&G_0315

sized_S&G_0337'

sized_S&G_0338

sized_S&G_0351

sized_S&G_0340

sized_S&G_0341

sized_S&G_0346

sized_S&G_0348

sized_S&G_0349

sized_S&G_0350

sized_S&G_0339

 

I didn’t add the images of townhall & church on purpose. It would have made this blogpost way too long. I will try to upload the slideshow I’ve made, so you can see them in there.

A big big thanks to Patrick who was a great assistant, thinking ahead of me and pointing out the different possibilities of some shots. And of course to Sofie and Gert for being the perfect bride and groom. Cheers!

It’s all for now,

Ciao

JayJay

~ door Jef Janssens op januari 3, 2010.

16 Reacties to “Twenty Ten”

  1. Wow jef,
    weer heb je me overtuigd van je fotografische skills! Zwaar onder de indruk, prachtige shots, poses en pp.
    Véél meer van dit!
    grs!

  2. Jef, een knappe reeks!

    Wat het bloggen betreft, ook bij mij was het updaten omwille van verschillende redenen minder frequent in 2009. Vele (foto)bloggers gaan dit jaar afhaken denk ik. Voorts is er een versnippering aan de gang door de sociale media (Twitter, Facebook…)

  3. Mooie reeks!

  4. Dit is echt WOW. Jouw blog blijft steevast op mijn blogrol staan. Je hebt alles om een uitmuntende huwelijksfotograaf te worden. En dit in combinatie met je full time job en je gezin, chapeau! Mijn beste wensen voor 2010!

  5. ’t Was voor mij een fijne ervaring om samen het huwelijk van Sofie en Gert in beeld te brengen.
    Mooie reeks, mooie afwerking.

  6. Ik volg al een tijdje je blog en deze reeks is er echt een om van te smullen. Prachtige beelden en mooie poses … Doe zo verder.

  7. Nice!!!

  8. Jef : 2 thumbs up !!! Prachtig werk !!!

  9. C’est également l’année où tu dois perfectionner ton français écrit 🙂 ! Tes photos sont superbes ! je crois que tu avais déjà photographié les fiançailles de ce couple, non ? En tout cas, pour tes mariages à venir, si tu as besoin ou envie d’une apprentie photographe, je suis à ta disposition 🙂 !

  10. Goed gedaan Jef. Je hebt de mensen een leuke herinnering gegeven. Ik hou van de rechtstreekse blikken in de camera…Betrekt je als kijker meer. Misschien moet je dit meer doen.

  11. Het laarbeste voor 2010 !
    En super mooie foto’s zoals altijd:)
    xx

  12. Heel straffe reeks ! Heb je de haarlak nog van u lens gekregen 🙂

  13. Prachtige reeks !

  14. Sublieme huwelijksfotografie !!!

  15. hey Jef, ik volg al een tijdje uw blog en wat een knappe beelden zeg. Ik blijf jou zeker volgen. Chique dinges !!!

  16. Heel sterke reportage Jef, knap werk!

Geef een reactie

 
