Looking for identity

As you ‘ll have noticed, blogging has not been my top priority lately. It’s a matter of having the time & a certain ‘urge’ to show our micro-world what we ‘ve been up to.

I didn’t had either of these 😉

Work for Siemens at the powerplant of Doel and the teaching in combination with almost weekly weddings has taken its toll, so blogging became soon a luxury not within reach.

The wedding season is over now, most pics have been processed and yesterday, finally, our turbine reached it’s normal speed again without extreme temperature or vibrations. So we meet again on the blog 🙂  I won’t show all of the past weddings chronologically, I’ll just blog whatever I feel up to 😉

When I take a look at all the pictures I’ve took the past months, I’m not satisfied. Sure the clients like them and they’re allways véry happy with the slideshow. But I feel like I’m kinda stuck. The type/style of pictures I want to take is not that what comes out of the camera.

At first -we ‘re speaking 2 years ago when I started doing weddings- the learning curve was rather exponential. I did notice improvement almost one wedding after the other. I gained confidence and it showed. But meanwhile, one has to reset one’s standards from time to time to keep up with the big guys. And I got myself high standards, cause I like the way they portret people. You can find most of them listed here on the right side.  The major problem is that I’m gonna have to decide in wich path/style/type of weddingphotography I’m gonna try to improve myself; will it be the photojournalistic approach like Jeff Ascough or Stefan Söser, will it be the ‘flashy’ look like Ed or Jeremy, will it be the American approach like Sam, Tony, Jess and many others? Or am I going to -certainly not on purpose- adapt myself to what I see on a daily base when looking at the pictures of weddingphotographers who I got to know better and talk to on a regular base, in person or via Twitter etc…? It’s rather easy to shoot like the latter, cause you know their approach, their gear, the difficulties they encounter, the new techniques they use etc…, and though you don’t want to copy them, you will be heavily influencend by them and the outcome will be rather alike.

That’s why I decided for next year to have a maximum of 6 to 8 weddings so I can take the time to exercice a lot, try out different approaches, see what works best for me and get better at it. I’m gonna follow some workshops, hopefully some abroad 😉  The only goal is to get myself a goal.

For now, I have some shots ready from Julie & Oliver, one of the nicest couples I’ve met this year. The weather gods were not in a good mood that day cause we got ourselves some heavy rain, forcing us to do the afternoon shoot in less than 40 minutes. You can imagine the stress 😀

Ciao

J.

 

sized_J&O_0024

sized_J&O_0019a

sized_J&O_0005

sized_J&O_0029BW_Combi

sized_J&O_0017a

sized_J&O_0041

sized_J&O_0042

sized_J&O_0048

sized_J&O_0053aBW

sized_J&O_0057a

sized_J&O_0207a

sized_J&O_0128a

sized_J&O_0134aBW

sized_J&O_0164BW

sized_J&O_0201a

sized_J&O_0227BW

sized_J&O_0205a

sized_J&O_0244BW

sized_J&O_0238BW

sized_J&O_0246

sized_J&O_0249a

sized_J&O_0241aBW

sized_J&O_0269BW

sized_J&O_0263BW

sized_J&O_0285BW

sized_J&O_0312BW

sized_J&O_0315BW

sized_J&O_0344

sized_J&O_0399BW

sized_J&O_0401

sized_J&O_0411a

 

sized_J&O_0415a

sized_J&O_0412a2

sized_J&O_0439a

sized_J&O_0442a

sized_J&O_0444a

 

sized_J&O_0472a

sized_J&O_0473a2BW

sized_J&O_0472a2BW

sized_J&O_0491aBW

sized_J&O_0478aBW

sized_J&O_0511a

sized_J&O_0500a2

sized_J&O_0502aBW

sized_J&O_0445aBW

~ door Jef Janssens op december 6, 2009.

7 Reacties to “Looking for identity”

  1. Mooi! Zoals altijd! 😉

  2. MEES-TER-LIJKE serie Jef. Verdorie hier heb ik van genoten!

  3. Jef,
    I think we all have that feeling from time to time. Even guys like zack arias (check http://www.zarias.com/?p=284). You can’t let that feeling eat you up. The only thing to do about it is get out , shoot and have FUN! Turn this feeling into a good thing, it’s good you critique your own work, it will only help you grow. Standing still is moving backwards. And you are not standing still my friend!

    (if you just want to second shoot to experiment a bit, gimme a call!)

  4. Hey Jef, je levert zoals beloofd een blog-post. Niet eentje met alleen maar mooie foto’s maar ook met je persoonlijke gedachten. Dat toont lef maar vooral karakter. Zelf ben je er al achter wat de juiste weg is denk en volgens mij doe je er goed aan om voor kwaliteit te kiezen en niet kwanititeit. Ik ben benieuwd wat de toekomst gaat brengen. Ik houd je in de gaten, als je je blog tenminste update 😉

  5. Stijlvolle reeks en afwerking.

  6. Hey Jef,
    Nice to see you blogging again! I like your work very much so I’m very happy that your back and HOW? Very beautiful images, again 😉
    Having doubts about photography is something I have constantly but like Tom says it can be a push to grow.
    Photography is no exact science and for that reason I believe it will be hard all the time, especially when you want your shootings to get better time after time. Don’t stay thinking about that fact too long, grab your cam and do your thing 😉

    Keep up the good work, hungry for more 😉
    Grz,
    Jasper

  7. Jef,
    Mooie reeks heb je hier !!!

    En da gevoel, ik denk ook dat iedere fotograaf dat heeft. Ik denk zelfs dat je dat moet hebben om een goede fotograaf te zijn 🙂 Anders evolueer je niet meer, leer je niet meer bij en … zijn je foto’s binnen 10 jaar dezelfde als vandaag. Fotografie is mode-gevoelig hé dus bijblijven is de boodschap 🙂

Geef een reactie

 
